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PRELIMINARY TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT 

 

CHAPTER 61D-5 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

61D-5.001 Occupational Licensure 

61D-5.003 Applications for Licensure; Fingerprint Requirements; Exemptions from Fingerprinting 

61D-5.004 Temporary Occupational Licenses 

61D-5.006 Waiver of Criminal Convictions or Other Offenses 

61D-5.001 Occupational Licensure. 

(1) The permitholder shall provide to the division the weekly payroll without compensation amounts for 

verification that all persons working at a permitholder’s facility are licensed. 

(2) Every initial application and renewal thereafter for an individual occupational license shall include the 

following: 

(a) A completed Form DBPR PMW-3120, Individual Occupational License Application, 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-XXXXX, adopted herein by reference, effective 

(Month Year), which can be obtained at http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/pari-mutuel-wagering/ or by 

contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, 

Florida 32399-1037. Any person desiring an initial occupational license pursuant to Section 550.105, F.S., 

shall file with the division a completed Form DBPR PMW-3120, Individual Occupational License 

Application, http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00565, or Form DBPR PMW-3130, 

Business Occupational License Application, http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00567, 

effective  9-11-11, adopted herein by reference, and can be obtained at www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pmw 

or by contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, 

Tallahassee, Florida 32399. 

(b) A complete set of fingerprints and the fingerprint fee: Any person desiring to renew an occupational 

license pursuant to Section 550.105, F.S., shall file with the division a completed Form DBPR PMW-3125, 

Individual Occupational License Renewal Application, 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00566, or Form DBPR PMW-3135, Business 

Occupational License Renewal Application, http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00568, 

effective 9-11-11, adopted herein by reference, and can be obtained at www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pmw 

or by contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, 

Tallahassee, Florida 32399. 

1. A complete set of fingerprints must be submitted to the division either on an FD-258 fingerprint card or 

via a livescan device. Each applicant sending fingerprints via a livescan device must provide the Florida 

Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) approved livescan service provider the correct Originating Agency 

Identifier (ORI) number, which is FL920630Z, in order for the division to receive his or her fingerprint results.   

2. For each set of fingerprints, the appropriate fingerprint processing fee, as established by FDLE and the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation, shall be paid by the applicant to the livescan service provider as part of the 

initial or renewal application. 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-XXXXX
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(c) Either the Professional Occupational License fee of $80 for a three year license or the General 

Occupational License fee of $15 for a three year license. Applicants shall also include payment of the license 

fee as follows: 

1. $120 for a Business Occupational License; 

2. $80 for a Professional Occupational License; or  

3. $15 for a General Occupational License. 

(3) Every initial application and renewal thereafter for a Business Occupational License shall include the 

following: 

(a) A completed Form DBPR PMW-3130, Business Occupational License Application, 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-XXXXX, adopted herein by reference, effective 

(Month Year), which can be obtained at www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pari-mutuel-wagering/ or by 

contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, 

Florida 32399-1037. 

(b) The Business Occupational License fee of $120 for a three year license. 

(4) All of the following individuals associated with an applicant for a Business Occupational License shall 

be required to hold a valid Professional Occupational License issued by the division: 

1.  Officers, 

2. Directors, 

3. Managers, and   

4. Shareholders holding 10 percent or more interest in the business.  

        (5) No application for a Business Occupational License shall be granted by the division unless each of the 

individuals requiring licensure pursuant to subsection (4) above have been verified by the division to hold 

valid Professional Occupational Licenses issued by the division.  

(6) A business applicant shall be subject to denial of its initial or renewal application as outlined in Section 

550.105, F.S., based on the disqualifying criminal convictions, civil judgments or discipline history in Florida 

or other racing jurisdictions of the business entity or the individuals associated with the business identified in 

subsection (4) above.  

(7)(3) All occupational and fingerprint fees are nonrefundable, except in situations where the applicant 

was charged in error. 

(8)(4) Pari-mutuel occupational licenses issued and renewed pursuant to Section 550.105, F.S., shall have 

an effective date of July 1st and shall be valid for a period of three fiscal years. Applications for an initial pari-

mutuel occupational license or for renewal of a pari-mutuel occupational license shall be submitted between 

May 1st and June 30th for the license period beginning July 1st of the next fiscal year. Applications received 

outside of this period shall have an effective date beginning July 1st of the state fiscal year in which the 

application was received.  

(9)(5) Any individual or business applicant may request a waiver of disqualifying factors in an application 

that would otherwise be grounds for denial of a license application from the Division Director. A request for a 

waiver shall be made on Form DBPR PMW-3180, Request for Waiver, effective  9-11-11, adopted herein by 

reference, http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00570, and can be obtained at 

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/pari-mutuel-wagering/ www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pmw or by 



Page 3 of 5 

 

contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, 

Florida 32399-1037. The division will process any Request for Waiver upon receipt of a complete application 

according to Section 120.60(1), F.S. 

(10)(6) A request to upgrade a pari-mutuel occupational license shall be made on Form DBPR PMW-3430 

DBPR PMW-3170, License Upgrade Application, effective 9-11-11, adopted herein by reference in Rule 61D-

14.005, F.A.C., http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-00569, and can be obtained at 

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/pari-mutuel-wagering/ www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pmw or by 

contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, 

Florida 32399-1037. A license upgrade shall be granted or denied within 30 days of reciept of a completed 

Form DBPR PMW-3430 and any applicable fee. A License Upgrade Application shall lapse and no longer be 

processed by the division, if the applicant fails to provide the division with a complete application within 120 

days of a notice issued by the division pursuant to section 120.60(1), F.S. An applicant seeking a license 

upgrade following the lapse of their previous application shall be required to reapply by submitting a 

completed Form DBPR PMW-3430 and any applicable fee.  

(11) A license application shall lapse and no longer be processed by the division, if the applicant fails to 

provide the division with a complete application within 120 days of a notice issued by the division pursuant to 

section 120.60(1), F.S. A person with a lapsed license application shall not be eligible to participate in 

activities that require an occupational license. An applicant seeking a pari-mutuel occupational license as an 

initial or renewal applicant following the lapse of their previous license application shall be required to 

reapply by submiting all materials and fees required in subsection (2) or (3) above.   

(11) Any person or business entity whose occupational license has expired and who seeks a subsequent 

occupational license: 

(a) Within one year of the expiration of the license, shall be considered an applicant for renewal of that 

license; 

(b) Longer than one year after expiration of the license shall be considered an initial applicant for an 

occupational license. 

       (12)(7) License application forms and fingerprint cards produced by and submitted through the 

Association of Racing Commissioners International (ARCI) or the National Racing Compact (NRC) under the 

Federal Pari-Mutuel Licensing Act of 1988 will be accepted by the division. 

(13) Sunset Provision: In order to ensure the ongoing necessity of division rules, this rule shall sunset and 

cease to be effective five years following the rule’s effective date, unless, prior to that deadline, the division 

adopts an amendment to the deadline in this sunset provision.  

Rulemaking Authority 550.0251(3), 550.105(2)(b), (10)(a) FS. Law Implemented 550.0251, 550.105 FS. 

History–New 10-20-96, Amended 12-15-97, 4-12-06, 9-11-11,              . 

61D-5.003 Applications for Licensure; Fingerprint Requirements; Exemptions from Fingerprinting. 

The following occupations or groups of persons are exempt from the fingerprint requirements of Section 

550.105, F.S.: 

(1) through (3) No change.  

(4) Any person whose fingerprints have been deemed “unclassifiable” twice by the Federal Bureau of 

Investigations; and, 
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(5) An applicant who is 70 years of age or older and instead submits $24 for a background information 

records check through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement; and,  

(5)(6) An applicant who is under 18 years of age. 

Sunset Provision: In order to ensure the ongoing necessity of division rules, this rule shall sunset and cease to 

be effective five years following the rule’s effective date, unless, prior to that deadline, the division adopts an 

amendment to the deadline in this sunset provision.  

Rulemaking Authority 550.0251(3), 550.105(2)(b), (10)(a) FS. Law Implemented 550.105 FS. History–New 

10-20-96, Amended 4-12-06, 9-11-11, 8-10-15,            . 

SUBSTANTIAL REWORDING OF RULE 61D-5.004 TEMPORARY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES 

FOLLOWS.  

SEE FLORIDA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE FOR PRESENT TEXT. 

61D-5.004 Temporary Occupational Licenses. 

(1) The division shall issue a temporary occupational license within 30 days of receipt of the application 

submitted pursuant to Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C., when the following conditions are met:  

(a) The applicant has submitted a completed Form DBPR PMW-3120 or Form DBPR PMW-3130, 

adopted by reference in Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C., and has paid all applicable licensing and fingerprint fees;  

(b) The applicant is in good standing and not under suspension or ineligible in Florida or any other racing 

jurisdiction; 

(c) The division has not issued the applicant’s occupational license; and 

(d) If the applicant has previously applied to the division for a license, the applicant’s most recent 

application prior to the current application for licensure did not lapse pursuant to Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C. 

(2) A temporary license can be obtained by the horse owner’s licensed trainer, or by the greyhound 

owner’s licensed kennel operator or trainer on behalf of a greyhound owner, horse owner, stable, or kennel. 

The division shall issue this temporary occupational license when the following conditions are met: 

(a) The applicant has submitted a completed Form DBPR PMW-3110, Animal Owner Temporary License 

Application, effective (Month Year), adopted herein by reference, 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-XXXXX, and can be obtained at 

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/pari-mutuel-wagering/ or by contacting the Department of Business 

and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1037; 

(b) The applicant has submitted payment of all applicable licensing and fingerprinting fees; 

(c) The greyhound owner, horse owner, stable, or kennel for which the application is submited is in good 

standing and not under suspension or ineligible in Florida or any other racing jurisdiction; 

(d) The greyhound owner, horse owner, stable, or kennel for which the application is submitted has not 

been issued an occupational license by the division; and 

(e) If the greyhound owner, horse owner, stable, or kennel for which the application is submitted has 

previously applied to the division for a license, the applicant’s most recent application prior to the current 

application for licensure did not lapse pursuant to Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C.  

(3) All temporary licenses issued by the division are subject to the same requirements of Chapter 550, F.S., 
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and Chapter 61D-5, F.A.C., as pari-mutuel occupational licenses and shall be immediately surrendered and 

considered void if the division: 

(a) Receives from the holder of a temporary license a Form DBPR PMW-3180, Request for Waiver, 

adopted by reference in Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C, regarding disqualifying factors in their license application 

that would otherwise be grounds for denial of the license application;   

(b) Grants the applicant a pari-mutuel occupational license; 

(c) Issues a letter of its intent to deny the application for a pari-mutuel occupational license;  

(d) Denies the applicant a pari-mutuel occupational license; or 

(d) Finds the applicant in violation of Chapter 550, F.S., or Chapter 61D-5, F.A.C. 

(4) A holder of a temporary occupational license which has been voided according to subsection (3) above 

shall cease all activity requiring the possession of an occupational license.  

(5) An applicant who is not eligible for a temporary license is not prevented from applying for an 

occupational license referenced in Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C.  

       (6) Only one temporary license shall be issued to any applicant in any state fiscal year. 

(7) A temporary license is valid for no more than 90 calendar days from the date of issuance.  

(8) Sunset Provision: In order to ensure the ongoing necessity of division rules, this rule shall sunset and 

cease to be effective five years following the rule’s effective date, unless, prior to that deadline, the division 

adopts an amendment to the deadline in this sunset provision.  

Rulemaking Authority 550.0251(3), 550.105(2)(b), (6) FS. Law Implemented 550.0251, 550.105 FS. History–

New 10-20-96, Amended 12-15-97, 4-12-06, 9-11-11,            . 

61D-5.006 Waiver of Criminal Convictions or Other Offenses. 

(1) Any applicant for an occupational license who is subject to denial on the basis of a criminal conviction 

or discipline by any racing jurisdiction may seek a waiver from the division director. The applicant shall 

submit Form DBPR PMW-3120, Individual Occupational License Application, adopted by reference in Rule 

61D-5.001, F.A.C., the annual license fee and, any applicable fingerprint fee, an FD-258 fingerprint card or 

fingerprints via a livescan device a complete set of fingerprints on a card supplied by the division, and Form 

DBPR PMW-3180, Request for Waiver, adopted by reference in Rule 61D-5.001, F.A.C. The applicant shall 

also schedule a waiver interview with the Office of Investigations. Failure to participate in a waiver interview 

or to disclose any pertinent information regarding criminal convictions, or discipline by any racing jurisdiction 

shall result in a denial of the request for waiver.  

(2) through (3) No change.  

(4) The division will process a Request for Waiver upon receipt of a complete application pursuant to 

Section 120.60(1), F.S.  

(5) Sunset Provision: In order to ensure the ongoing necessity of division rules, this rule shall sunset and 

cease to be effective five years following the rule’s effective date, unless, prior to that deadline, the division 

adopts an amendment to the deadline in this sunset provision.  

Rulemaking Authority 550.0251(3), 550.105(2)(b), (10)(a) FS. Law Implemented 550.0251, 550.105 FS. 

History–New 10-20-96, Amended 12-15-97, 4-12-06, 9-11-11,            . 


